Old 28 January 2024, 05:21   #1

Town: Tampa, Florida
Boat name: Zodiac CFR340
Length: 3m +
Engine: Trolling motor
Advice on old Zodiac

Hello everyone,

I am new to boating and would like some advice (maybe encouragement?).
I live in FL and finally started saltwater fishing. I'm a seasoned freshwater fisherman, but only recently discovered (and got addicted to) the flats with trout, pompano, and reds. I've been wading at Ft DeSoto so far.
I spend my summers in GA and I have an Intex Mariner 4 with a 40lb MinnKota for bass. It is perfect for my needs.
Now I decided to get an inflatable for FL (SIB, as I don't have space to store an RIB - I live in a townhouse).
So I got this 1999 Zodiac CFR340 for $200. Only problem advertised was floor coming unglued. Had oars, pump, transom wheels, bench and air floor. Keel was also unglued from the floor.
What I know/ did so far, after 2 weeks.
- all chambers hold air and pressure - I left them inflated overnight and it was fine the next day. (semi-recessed valves leak on the inside, but don't with the cap on). I have insert replacement valves ordered.
- there is only 1 patch, on the bottom of the floor (no patch on air pressured chambers)
- air floor and keel hold air and pressure for the tested 24 hrs.
- I pulled / yanked on the transom but it looks solidly on, and the wood is not soft at corners or anything.
- I pulled the floor completely off (all the way to the transom - came off easily), spent 3 days cleaning with a dremel and acetone, until completely clean.
- It was obvious that the floor had been glued back before - there were marks and arrows, plus how easily it came off
- I spent another half day glueing the floor HH66 (2 part glue would have been too expensive for me). I took my time, followed all directions, cleaned again with acetone all sides, and everything looks solid.
- didn't take on the water yet, I am waiting to get some boat stuff from GA