Old 04 January 2004, 06:40   #1

Town: somerset + scotland
Boat name: Clue:- It's White!
Make: Novamarine
Length: 6m +
Engine: weisel jet!!
Inboard Diesels

I have been running an inboard diesel rib for three years now and have had great fun, fishing, cruising, taking photos, wakeboarding, donuting, (yes behind a smelly diesel), better than behind a smelly two stroke! I am running a 5.8 mt rib with a Yanmar 4LHDTE on to a Castoldi 05 Jet. No Major problems (touch wood). I have been looking around to upgrade to something bigger and have noticed, several 7mt ribs by various builders for sale, running the new Mercruiser 120hp diesel. This engine has only been available for a year or two and I haven't heard any comments about it at all. Has anyone had any experiences of these engines, good or bad,they would like to share. I am a bit concerned as there does seem to be rather alot of them for sale at the moment. Are they under powered? Are they uneconomical? Are they expensive on spares or servicing? Thanks in advance and if anyone is interested in a small diesel jet drive let me know.
justin@pclimited.freeserve.co.uk
Old 04 January 2004, 08:47   #2

Town: Pwllheli-North Wales
Boat name: V-ONE
Make: Highfield
Length: 8m +
Engine: Honda 250hp
Hi

I am supposed to have the 120hp merc coming in a 6.5m Prosport. But considering upgarding to the new volvo D3????
Old 04 January 2004, 13:23   #3
nik

Town: east cowes
Make: academic
Length: no boat
Engine: fresh air
MMSI: N/A
diesel

Hi Juspalm,
I too have been looking for diesel ribs and was quite interested by the mercruiser 120d. I have heard both good and bad reports about it, although nothing specific. I believe it is a marinised astra engine. But what is putting me off is that I am not convinced that it is powerful enough.