Old 27 May 2006, 16:06   #1

Town: Newby Bridge
Boat name: Alfie
Make: Zodiac
Length: 4m +
Engine: 50hp
So what is the well dressed Ribster wearing?

I'm about to pick up my new rib next week and as a newbie I wondered what most people wear when they go out on their RIBS?

When I did my level 2 course I wore jeans, waterproof coat & wellies and stayed dry, but that was only because I didn't have to wade out to launch and recover and very little water came into the RIB as it was a calm day and it didn't rain.

I'd like to buy some clothing to keep my dry in all weathers and in different launching situations, should I be looking at waders or will a good pair of wellies do me? I don't really want to put a dry suit on every time I go out but neither do I want to spend a couple of hours on the water in wet clothes, can anyone offer some suggestions?
Old 27 May 2006, 16:18   #2

Town: NW& wherever the boat is!
Boat name: depends on m'mood!
Make: Humbers/15-24m cats
Length: 6m +
Engine: etec130/big volvos
MMSI: many and various
Lifejacket/buoyancy aid then - breathable drysuit with wellies attached and undersuit between it and you. Or on that one day of summer per year-hat to stop your head burning , T shirt, shorts, sandals and an all over lobster red tan (and a bundle of warm clothes to put on when you realise its colder at sea than on land). If I'm goin fishing a floatation suit instead of the drysuit cos latex seals get a bit uncomfy after a day sitting about waiting for some fish. Some Oakley goggles or a helmet with visor are a neccessity if it rains cos high speed raindrops are like needles in the eyes.
Old 27 May 2006, 16:26   #3
ADS

Town: Dorset
Im able to lauch my boat without getting wet, so in the Rib I tended to wear breathable over trousers and jacket with auto life jacket and some gill wellies. In the summer generally a wet suit and buoyancy aid due to being in and out of the water the whole time, swimming and on the ringo etc.