Old 23 January 2007, 19:45   #1

Town: Southampton
Make: halmatic
Length: 6m +
Engine: inboard
Where should I keep it

Hi
I am new to the rib lark and have just bught myself a pacific 22. It needs a bit of work but I will use it for a season and spend next winter doing it up.
Advice please - where is the best place to keep it in the Southampton area ?
I have looked at a number of places and am being swayed towards Southampton Dry Stack at Drivers Wharf. I went to see them recently and they have this massive forklift that puts the boats in and out of the water which seems to be better for the rib than other places I have seen where crane belts seem to crush the tubes. They are cheaper than the 'big' marinas and there are a lot of other ribs there ( a lot of which are in lovely condition and will put my boat to shame - roll on 2008 !!). Any comments would be appreciated.
If you see this big slow (25knts) grey thing out in the water this summer with a novice drver - give me a wave .....
Old 23 January 2007, 20:17   #2

Town: Essex/Vendee
Boat name: shockwave,Voluntry 2
Make: Pac 22/ searider5.4
Engine: 180hp turbo,yam 90
Hi and wellcome your doing exactly what i,m wanting to do .Great hull.Unfortunately i cannot help you with storage.
Old 23 January 2007, 20:26   #3
Administrator

Town: Brighton
Length: 3m +
jimtoo

Drivers Dry Berthing www.dryberthing.com (next door to Southampton Dry Stack) is a very friendly yard used by several RIBnet members. They use a crane not a forklift, but it has a spreader frame so your tubes will be OK. Hasn't your Pacific got lifting points anyway?

Stuart (aka Rogue Wave) has a large workshop/storage unit there which would also be a good place to do your rebuild.

John
Old 23 January 2007, 20:41   #4

Town: Dartmouth
Boat name: Puffling
Make: Avon Rover 3.4m
Length: 5m +
Engine: Mercury 15hp
Send a message via MSN to badbaws
Better Storage

Hi if you give Stuart a ring on this no 07859 886431