Old 21 June 2008, 17:13   #1

Town: manchester
Length: 3m +
SIB for wakeboarding, Skiing and Fishing

Hi All,
Great to find a forum that includes SIB’s.
I’m heading off to Spain in 6 weeks for a month and I want to take a boat with me. The site I stay on has a small jetty which is only really suitable for hand launching. So I’ve decided the best approach would be a SIB with transom wheels. I want to use it for wakeboarding/Skiing/Fishing and family trips staying relatively close to shore.
I’m a complete novice when it comes to boats and would appreciate some recommendations on boat/engine packages. My budget is up to £3500 and I’m happy to buy used.

So far I’ve looked at Zodiac Futura’s, Excel’s and Quicksilver’s

Also, any recommendations on RYA level 2 powerboat courses? I’m based in sunny Manchester!

Cheers

Adam
Old 21 June 2008, 22:19   #2

Town: cornwall
Boat name: nothing
Make: rib eye 430
Length: 4m +
Engine: tatsu 50
MMSI: 666
depends on size you need for the size of family . Your budget would get you a new honda or quicksilver and engine up to 4m and 20- 25hp . I don't think a sib that size will tow a wakeboard or skier easily .
Also depends on how you intend to transport it , a 3.8 air and 25hp 2 stroke are about as much as you can carry and fold down etc with ease and it would fill a large estate car
Most bigger sibs end up on a trailer and then you had just as well buy a solid hull boat
have a search in the new sib section there are lots of similar posts to yours and you can see what people eneded up with .

I had a 3.8 honda air floor with a 20hp honda engine new for about 3k that was certainly one of the best lightwieght sibs I have seen ,
Old 22 June 2008, 06:24   #3
Administrator

Town: Brighton
Adam

How important is wakeboarding/skiing? How much space have you got in your vehicle? Could you tow a trailer? How many people do you want to carry?