Old 26 July 2004, 07:15   #1

Town: Bradford on Avon
Boat name: tbc
Make: Sunseeker (AshleyD)
Length: 8m +
Engine: 2 x coal burners
Resizing photographs

Hello,

Could anyone who posts pictures on Ribnet let me know what software they use to resize their photos please?

I use Nikon view & have tried Paint Studio light, as recommended by JK, but my photos are either rejected as being too large, or come out very small on the thread if they are accepted (see Salcombe post). Could this be to do with the file size? I shoot in jpeg fine mode on the camera which is the highest quality jpeg setting.

I'm new to digital photography, so any advice would be gratefuly received.

Cheers.
Old 26 July 2004, 07:22   #2

Town: Reading
Make: None
Length: under 3m
Hi Ian,

We use Adobe Photoshop 4 (quite old!) which seems to work fine. See here for examples of pics taken with a Canon Powershot A40 and resized with Photoshop: http://www.rib.net/forum/showthread....light=alderney (our pics start with post 9).

HTH
Louise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 July 2004, 11:14   #3

Hi
Louise,

Thanks for the reply. I think I wil get a copy of Photoshop - hopefully that will do the trick.

BTW love the photos of the yellow rib in your link.

Cheers.

Ian
Old 26 July 2004, 11:20   #4

Town: Torquay
Make: Bayliner
Length: 5m +
Engine: I/B 3L
I use Paint Shop Pro for all my picture editing. However this is paid for software and not worth it if you just want to change the size of the image.

If your looking for a quick way of sizing several pictures then I would try somthing from the www.tucows.com multimedia section. Look for the freeware software in the image editors section.

It all depends if your resizing to a pixel size or a file size as to which software is better to use.
Old 26 July 2004, 11:40   #5

Town: Leatherhead
Length: no boat
You could try Cam2PC which a nice little freeware program. Details at http://www.nabocorp.com/cam2pc/index.php