Old 24 June 2023, 16:23   #1

Town: Wigan
Boat name: Don’t have one yet
Which engine for 380 sib?

Hi all,

I’m new to boating and looking for some engine advice please.

My initial plan was to take my Power Boat Level 2 course that’s booked end of August, then decide what SIB and engine to buy. Now I seem to have found a boat that works for my requirements: inshore coastal exploring, anchor down to snorkel and generally just enjoy the scenery on a lake or loch perhaps. Said boat being an Air V 380 from Boat World. If I can decide on an engine, I just might get some kit together and make my maiden voyage in September rather than wait till next year.
I’ve had my eye on 4 engines and I’d love to hear your thoughts, ideas and maybe even real life experiences.

Other notes and preferences:
* Mostly carrying 2 adults and 2 kids with combined weight of no more than 250kg.
* I’d like electric start. Seems a no brainer, but also not popular.
* Lighter the better. We use an old VW camper. SIB will be packed away after every use/holiday and of course manually launched. Ain’t getting the old thing down many slips. Transom wheels all the way.
* Can’t decide on EFI or carburetor.
* Got to be 20hp. I’m certain of that.
* I welcome anything for sale or shop recommendations, preferably North West UK or online of course.
* Is there such thing as the easiest/best engine to work on when in need of repair?

So, the engines….. (I’m open to suggestions for others)

* Orca - cheapest option just not sure on this Chinese copy thing. Sometimes copies can work out, but not always. Carb ignition.

* Tohatsu - Mid range price with EFI and probably the lightest.

* Honda - Slightly more expensive but appears to be the quietest. Think it has carbs. On the heavier side.

* Yamaha- Not put much thought into this engine, but it has to be considered right?

Thanks for reading. Cheers, Jon.
Old 24 June 2023, 17:08   #2

Boat name: Redneck
Make: Excel
Length: 3m +
Engine: 20 efi & 9.8 2s