Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > Engines & props
Click Here to Login

Old 31 May 2021, 11:27   #1

Town: Fareham
Length: 5m +
Yamaha 70HP 2ST Electrical Issue

Afternoon All,

First proper trip out this season yesterday - Hamble to Christchurch. All went smoothly on the way there, however midway through the return journey I noticed that the Yamaha Multifunction gauge had gone blank and the fuel gauge was reading end stop zero. The engine did not miss a beat.

Was reluctant to investigate at sea, as unsure if I stopped the engine that I would be able to crank. Once at the Hamble jetty I gave a cables under the console a wiggle but nothing happened - not even a flicker on the fuel gauge. However as soon as I switched the engine off and back on again both gauges immediately came back to life and I could not make them fail again.

I am an electronics engineer by trade so really should be able to troubleshoot this one, however before I waste a perfectly good sailing Saturday afternoon on it, I wondered if these symptoms sounds familiar to anyone? Doesn't feel like the usual loose under-console wiring - more like an engine relay maybe...

(Yamaha 2ST 70HP 2005 with digital multifunction gauge)

Regards,

Rob
Old 31 May 2021, 21:01   #2

Town: Aberdeenshire
Boat name: Sula
Make: Ribcraft 4.8m
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 70hp + aux
MMSI: 235087213
RIBase
Where to start.

Yamaha, in fact all marine outboard manufacturers don't use tinned cable. Now it could be as simple as corrosion and a break in continuity but the fact it reset itself when you restarted, either points to the ignition wiring in the throttle box, wiring from the battery to a bus bar or similar or indeed the guage itself.