Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > Trailers & towing
Click Here to Login

Old 14 August 2024, 08:15   #1

Make: Zodiac
Length: 3m +
Trolley or transom wheels + bow dolly for transport + storage?

Hello,

I am new to owning a sib (or any boat). We recently bought a Zodiac Cadet 350 Aero (42 kg + 6 hp mercury outboard), and I am looking for advice on transom wheels/trolleys/dollys for our use. I have read everything I could find here, which has been very helpful, but I still have some questions, so I hope you can help me.

The wheels/trolley will be used for:
- outdoor storage in the garden in the warm season without engine.
- Wheeling the boat by hand 200 m from the garden down a mowed wide grass path to the water. The path has some sloped sections so wheels only on the back doesn’t work well. Once by the water, the beach is very narrow (just a couple of meters) with a mix of sand and (mostly) rocks.
- The path has some narrow turns so any front wheel(s) needs to be able to turn.
- Ideally one person should be able to wheel it up/down the path. I am not strong and my husband has back issues.
- We are not handy so prefer solutions that work more or less out of the box.

We have used the boat twice and strapped it to a windsurf trolley to get it to the water, but it has worked very poorly - kept getting off balance and particularly difficult up/down the slope and around turns - this was without the outboard.

We won’t need to launch from different sites or getting it into or trailing after a car. It shouldn’t be a problem to leave a trolley on the beach once launched.

Options I have looked at:

1) Transom wheels + bow dolly
I had first looked at transom wheels (suprod or solution-sellers.de) combined with the TREM “articulated” bow dolly with turning wheels:

Articulated trolley for front transport of rubber boats wheel diameter 260 mm - Trem O0826110

Buying both transom wheels and bow dolly would then no longer be an inexpensive option.

2) Trolley