Old 27 August 2021, 06:42   #1

Town: Falun
Make: Zodiac Futura Mk 2c
Length: 3m +
Engine: Suzuki DF20A
Buying old Zodiac - glue life

Hi.

I am new to SIBs and to this forum. I am considering buying an old Zodiac Futura Mark IIc with the aluminium floor. But I have already read many posts on this forum saying that the seams will fail because glue gets old regardless of usage and care.

This particular boat is in pretty much "as new" conditions due to the fact that it has only been used a few times since new. It was new sometime in the ninety's, so it more than 20 years old. It has always been stored inside when not used. Seller wants €1300 for it and another €1000 for a very nice -92 Evinrude 25 XP (short shaft, tiller, pull start). The boat comes with launch wheels, a foot pump and a manometer but no trailer or bow bag. I have not seen the boat yet but will on Sunday unless you steer me away.

So is this where I just walk away, or does anyone actually have old Zodiacs that are still going strong?
Old 28 August 2021, 04:50   #2
Spammer

Remember this , the number 1 reason why people sell inflatables is because they're leaking .

All glue will eventually fail.

Guaranteed.

You might end up fixing it more often than boating.

Or you might get lucky.

If this is your first boat , get something newer , simple, and light.

Buy only welded seams.

After you've fixed a few boats , get something older if you feel up for a challenge.

Constantly fixing boats gets annoying really fast.

But constantly spending time on the water , well you can never get enough of that.

Buy cheap and find a bargain, use it for a bit, resell it for more. Use those funds to upgrade to a newer / bigger boat for free.

Do that a couple times, and you'll know what you like but more importantly you'll know what you don't like.
Old 28 August 2021, 07:32   #3