Old 25 June 2020, 12:17   #1

Make: Zodiac
Length: 3m +
Engine: Mercury 20hp
Excel 3.9m Aluminium vs Air Deck

Hi ther,

What a great forum - I'm very new to this and have learnt so much on here!

I had a question - was going to buy my first Sib for local excursions, family days-out and maybe fishing - sea and river. I have four kids - 10yr old to teenage and was looking at Excel Volante 390 vs a 395 Vanguard XHD with an aluminium deck.

I have a ramp right at the bottom of my road on the south coast that is lapped by the sea at high tide... it's 100yds away so the plan would be to walk a boat dowm there on transom wheels and not get a trailer.

My question would be - is it worth getting the hard deck? There's £100 diffence or so...

Will I be able to lift the boat (minus outboard) on my own if I went solo? Will the air deck be easier to lauch and bring in because it's lighter? I wondered if the boat would be more rigid and be easier to lift when carrying it? Do the airdesk 'droop'?!

I'm not worried about inflating it frequently as am hoping to store it at my house inflated.

Also, I'm looking at getting a 20hp Tohatsu 4-stroke - does that sound sensible?

Many thanks for any advice!

Tonus
Old 25 June 2020, 12:24   #2

Town: Plymouth
Boat name: Sea Dragon
Make: Tornado Viking
Length: 6m +
Engine: 100 Yammy
Hi and welcome!

Depends what you want to do, the airdeck is easier and quicker to put up (until you become adept with the alli floor version). But you said you will keep it inflated, so thats a point for the alli.

Even the alli one will pull 100 yards easily enough with good transom wheels.

So yeah, my advice, go aluminium.
Old 25 June 2020, 13:15   #3

Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tonus View Post
Hi ther,

What a great forum - I'm very new to this and have learnt so much on here!