Old 27 May 2013, 11:28   #1

Town: Australia
Boat name: none
Make: JP Marine 3.8 Patrol
Length: 3m +
Engine: Tohatsu 18hp 2stroke
Turning over a SIB

Newbie here. I have a jp Marine 3.8 SIB. All up weight of hull and floor is 100 kg. I plan to carry it on a box trailer upside down as it might be the easiest way to get it on the trailer solo.
My question is - what is the trick to turning this boat over and getting it onto a trailer.
Old 27 May 2013, 16:36   #2

Town: Lima-Peru
Boat name: Nautile
Make: Sea Rider 450 Rib
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 5/18/30 HP
Welcome to Ribnet,

If you plan to tow it upside down at speed on a highway, bear in mind that wind will get under sib and act as a tent dragging car down. Iif possible modify box trailer, place 2 long bunks sit sib's tubes on top, strap well, surrounding air will slide much better as if it were navigating on a wind tunnel.

And get yoursef a least a extra trailer assistant, that size is near impossible to man handle solo...

Happy Boating
Old 27 May 2013, 22:17   #3

Thank you locozodiac. Attached are a couple of photos of a previous much lighter hull of what I was planning to do. I have found it very difficult to handle the JP Marine on my own and a couple of small slips. This hull has an aluminium floor, wheras the previous hull had an air floor. However I can probably move an empty hull and floor on my own short distances on a sandy beach. Then, when I have the hull beside the trailer I was hoping to flip the boat over sideways so that one of the tubes rests on planks placed accross the trailer and then slide the rest of the boat onto and across the trailer. However, at 100 kg I am not so sure even though I am probably lifting only 50 kg at a time.
Loading the hull at the end of a day's diving and fishing is a lot harder than unloading at the start of the day.
Trailer assistants are not always available.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0039.JPG
Views:	213
Size:	92.5 KB