Old 16 June 2023, 17:33   #1

Town: Essex
Make: Tobin sports
Length: 3m +
what outboard for 3.3m sib

Hi, I'm new to boating so have a question about what outboard to get.
I have bought a tobin sports 3.3m sib with air keel. It's rated to 15hp.
Would a 10hp 2 stroke (fairly old age I think, but in good nick), or a mid 2000's 6hp 4 stroke be better? Will have 2 adults and a soon to be teenager on board.

Mostly be used on freshwater but want a bit of fun aswell.
Will also be lifting on/off on my own.

Any advice gratefully recieved.
Old 17 June 2023, 16:37   #2

Town: Grimsby
Boat name: Honda
Make: Honda marine
Engine: Outboard
The 10hp would be much better and would do the job i used one on a t38 for a while with 2 adults and 2 kids. A 15hp 2 stroke would be my choice if you can find a good one as they are usually around the same weight as the 10.
Old 17 June 2023, 18:36   #3
RIBnet admin team

Town: Cambridgeshire
Boat name: Nimrod II
Make: Aerotec 380
Engine: Yam 15 Tohatsu 9.8
Hi Steve and welcome to the forum. We have frequently been 2 adults and one slim teen girl in SIBs from 3.4-3.8m. A 6hp will not move you at all well if at sea. A 10hp is about the minimum to plane this load, it's what we have now on a light air floor 3.8 (43kgs) and achieves 15kts.

Having said that if your freshwater use is just the river or restricted lake then the speed limit will easily be reached by a 6hp... even a 4hp.

Note Matt's comment re the weight. Many of the 2-stroke 10hp motors were just detuned 15hp models, the only true light 10hp is the Tohatsu 9.8 2-stroke.
Old 17 June 2023, 22:31   #4

Boat name: Redneck
Make: Excel
Engine: 20 efi & 9.8 2s
Hi Steve, welcome to the forum.

I always find the more info you give the better advice you will get.

"Mostly be used on freshwater but want a bit of fun aswell" -
What fresh water? A lake or a fast running river? What kind of fun? Bit of speed or thinking you may be able to tow something?