Old 21 August 2020, 20:24   #1

Town: Furzedown, London
Length: no boat
Another Newb

Hi all

Would much appreciate some advice on all things RIBs

I'm new to it and would value some input about:

Parking - does anyone know how viable it is to store RIBs around Harbours as I've heard some will do this. I'm put off by the annual Harbour fee's as these seem to negate some of the benefit of a RIB in its ability to be stored. I was on the phone to Torbay Harbour and they were saying approx £1500 pa.

Storing at home - if I source a 4.5m - 6m RIB how viable is it to store these at home ? Will I need a big driveway or double garage to either store it inflated on a trailor or deflated ?

Launching - how viable is it to launch a 4.5m+ rib from either a beach or Slipway ?

Coastline limits - could I comfortably cover the Torbay - Dorset coastline in a decent RIB - is this mainly dependent on the outboard size/power ?

Excuse any level of naivety as like I say I'm a novice at the mo but keen to know more about something which looks a stack of fun

Thanks for any help on this

SB
Old 21 August 2020, 20:49   #2

Town: Cardiff
Ok so all options are possible depends on boat, vehicle and slip, costs vary, it’s not cheap......dry stack is popular option vs moorings for ribs or there are many dry land parking options in boat parks near slips or with their own slips
6m on a beach probably needs decent 4wd disco shogun etc 4.5m on a slip can be done with a family hatch back

4.5m probably just fit in a garage 6m would need a bigger than normal domestic garage a barn or warehouse is better many live outside under cover a year round

Dartmouth to exmouth And further is easy on a rib on a nice day.....

Suggest you book a PB2 or similar in the area and go from there....I’m sure someone can suggest a Dorset/Torbay instructor with a suitable rib
Old 21 August 2020, 21:55   #3

Thanks HDAV