Old 26 August 2024, 11:33   #1

Town: Devon
Make: Ribeye A600
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yamaha 115
Getting soaked…

So, my first newbie question. For those that haven’t seen my intro thread, I’m a total novice and have just taken delivery of my first Rib, a Ribeye A600. I’ve done my Powerboat Level 2 course to give me the basics, and took the Rib out for the first time on Friday (from Teignmouth to Torquay), a successful trip with nothing to report.

We did the same trip on Saturday with 7 of us on board, stopping for lunch in Torquay. On the way back the sea was a bit more lively and wind had picked up (somewhere between force 4 and force 5). Despite the waves not being crazy big, we got absolutely drenched!! I was going between 20-25 knots all the way back.

Is there anything I could have done to stop us getting drenched, or is it inevitable to some extent on a rib in slightly lively conditions?

Also, any tips for visibility when getting soaked, my sunglasses were obviously drenched so keeping good visibility was a challenge (had to stop atone point to wipe them).

As I said, I’m a total novice so any comments/words of wisdom very welcome.
Old 26 August 2024, 12:02   #2

Town: Aberdeenshire
Boat name: Sula
Make: Ribcraft 4.8m
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 70hp + aux
MMSI: 235087213
RIBase
I was due to be out on Sunday, but we changed our plans last minute. Forecast for my part of the world was F5/6 with gusts of 25mph, so I know before I even haul the boat out it's going to be lumpy. Headed down to Arbroath for the day without the boat and as expected, plenty whitecaps and blowing SW for most of the day.