Click Here to Login

Old 02 September 2008, 20:25   #1
jjg

Town: Dublin
Make: Lencraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Outboard
hints for launching from beach

I am new to RIBs and boating in general. I have completed the level two course and have launched and retrieved from a number of slipways. It would be much more convenient for me launch and retrieve from a sandy beach on my doorstep. I would be very grateful for any hints or things to watch out for, Thanks
Old 02 September 2008, 21:05   #2

Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
My advice would be to carefully drive back up the beach and head straight for the nearest slipway

The beach may be closer but is unlikely to be more convenient unless the sea is as calm as inside a harbour and the sand is as hard as a concrete slipway!

I know plenty of people that do regularly use beaches but I've seen enough 4x4's up to their roofs in wet stuff to put me off doing it.
Old 02 September 2008, 21:24   #3

Town: London
Length: no boat
I'd agree with that. Stick to a slipway in anything but the calmest of conditions. Although I have launched & recovered often off a beach my Shogun's been stuck twice thanks to a combination of waves, wind and deep sand. (second time thank god for the passing JCB - but that's another story).

For recovering in good conditions, make sure the trailer is on a slight angle to the tide and pull the trailer out at an angle. Be quick as trailers quickly sink in soft sand.

Better still use a roap from firm sand further up the beach.
Old 03 September 2008, 11:06   #4

Town: Truro-Cornwall & Brazil
Boat name: Bananas in Blue
Make: Humber Destroyer 5.5
Engine: E-Tec 115
I'd agree that a length of rope is a good Idea to keep your vehicle on the firmer stuff and further from the advancing tide if you still get stuck!
Its easy to bend your jockey wheel if starts to plough into the sand as you pull up the beach though.