Old 03 September 2014, 11:36   #1

Town: Chester
Boat name: Black Hawk
Make: Osprey Vipermax 6.8
Length: 6m +
Engine: Etec 200 HO
MMSI: 235114488
Life Jacket Advice

I'm new to ribbing and wondered if there was any advice on the type of lifejacket for rib cruising? Automatic, self inflating it's a minefield. Also what best for children aged 6 and 8?? Any thoughts much appreciated.
Any recommendations??
Old 03 September 2014, 11:56   #2

Town: Whitehaven
Boat name: Cerberus
Make: Destroyer 5.8
Length: 5m +
Engine: 115hp Merc 4st
We have auto's, the wet dissolvy trigger type, not hammar pressure trigger ones. There is a big argument either way between those two. The hammar ones are apparently less prone to false triggering when you get a face full of spray, but I know sailors who have had the dissolving trigger ones for years in vile weather and never had an issue. i'd always go auto though as the thought of being unconscious or impaired due to cold in the water an not being able to find/pull a string does not make me comfortable.

For kids, foam jackets until they are old enough to fully understand how to pull an emergency release, and not to pull it when it isn't needed. No need to worry about it not inflating for whatever reason or then just playing with the very tempting pull cord. Also helps keep them warm in our stunning northern summer months.

Just my thoughts.....

Phil
Old 03 September 2014, 12:00   #3

Thanks Phil seems like good advice any brand recommendations?
Old 03 September 2014, 12:34   #4

Town: Portsmouth(ish)
Boat name: Wings
Make: Ribeye
Engine: Yamaha F115 AETL
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil M View Post