Click Here to Login

Old 06 July 2022, 08:52   #1

Town: South Coast
Boat name: Blue Rib
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 6m +
Engine: Outboard 150
Loch Sween & The Sound of Jura

I am new to RIBnet and this is my first post so hopefully this post is in the correct place and I am asking the right questions.

We are heading to Loch Sween in August for a week and I want to take our 6.5m RIB to use on Loch Sween and The Sound of Jura. Has anyone been to this neck of the woods before and have any useful information they can pass on?

Ideally we would use the RIB to get to quiet beaches further from public highway with the kids. We would also head toward Isle of Gigha for lunch etc.

Any information / opinions anyone has would be welcome.

Thanks

Rob
Old 06 July 2022, 09:18   #2
RIBnet admin team

Town: Cambridgeshire
Boat name: Nimrod II
Make: Aerotec 380
Length: 3m +
Engine: Yam 15 Tohatsu 9.8
Hi Rob and welcome to the forum. I don't normally step into the RIB threads being a mere sibber but a couple of our best holidays have been in that area. Where are you staying/launching?

See this thread for some SIB sized ideas but of course you will be able to range much further and faster.

https://www.rib.net/forum/f50/an-aer...6-a-73370.html

The two main beaches in Loch Sween are at Castle Sween (cafe and people) and Kilmory Bay (no facilities and medium people). I like the beach in the next loch south, Loch Caolisport (no road access so rarely any people). It's just round from the entrance north of the thin small island shown on charts as Liath Eilean

Beware the rock right in the middle of Sween and about halfway up, marked on the charts but hard to see at times. Also if going round from Sween to Caolisport some nasty barely awash rocks off the point in the area called Bow of Knap, I've come close to losing a keg on Flat Rock in that area just off Kilmory. Again it's on the chart but hard to see.