Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > RIBs & ribbing
Click Here to Login

Old 29 August 2024, 04:00   #1
Pbi

Town: San Jose
Length: no boat
Need recommendation for RIBs for California Bay Area and Delta

Hi guys, i'm relatively new to boating here (San Francisco Bay Area / California Delta) and need your recommendations - I only have prior experience with RIBs in the Mediterranean.
I am considering a RIB to enjoy the SF Bay between the south bay (Redwood City) and the Delta (up to Sacramento/Stockton). No intention to cross the Gate and do open-ocean waters. The RIB purpose would be cruising with family and friends. No interest in fishing, racing.
Ideally, i would leave the boat permanently docked at a marina in the south bay (i have no idea how easy/doable/costly this is). Alternatively, although less preferably, I can also be mobile and trail my boat back and forth assuming that the boat is not too big and heavy.

I was wondering the following:

Is a RIB suitable for enjoying and tackling these waters? If so, is there a particular size (or even RIB make/model) that you would recommend?

Any considerations on Marina services and boat maintenance that i should be aware of (e.g. lack of services in the area, or headaches for specific types of boats/brands/engines)?

Any additional suggestions or thoughts are welcome!
Old 02 September 2024, 17:54   #2

Town: NorCal
Boat name: SHARKY
Make: AB
Length: 4m +
Engine: Honda BF75 & BF5
I have a small 4.5m RIB I often launch at Horseshoe Cove under the Golden Gate Bridge. It does great in the bay and ocean, but bigger is always better. I used to have a 4.2m SIB and drove it around the bay and ocean all the time.