Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > RIBs & ribbing
Click Here to Login

Old 26 August 2007, 19:51   #1

Town: East Sussex
Boat name: Bfor
Make: Jeanneau
Length: 9m +
Engine: Yanmar 3gm30
Ribs and 'rithmetic. (For instructors really, but all welcome)

As a novice instructor, I keep making discoveries of things that students find tricky, which I suspect that most RIB owners would take for granted.

The main area of failure with the students seems to be Maths?Algebra.

To keep things simple when we do passage planning, I make them work out a short course where the legs are perhaps 1.5 to 2.5 miles each.

I then get them to give me a couple of possible cruising speeds - and the usual answers given are 20kts and 30kts.

Now comes the "tricky" bit. I ask them to work out the time each leg will take. (In conjunction with the time/distance table in an almanac if they need it).

Those who use the almanax table normally get the correct answer but needless to say it takes a fair while!

I think at the moment, almost none of the others have got anywhere near the correct answer by using their heads, or phones, or PDAs or other gizmos. In one case, I had a 3.5 mile leg at 30 kts taking a suggested 40 minutes!!

When they "fail" the maths, I usually refer them to the almanac and then go through the routine of "60kts = 1 nm per minute, so 30kts is 1 nm per 2 minutes, 20 kts is 1 nm per 3 minutes etc etc". Even this is sometimes met with looks of concern until you explain in a little more depth.

Out of interest, who else finds the above surprising when most of the clients drive cars and surely must have some idea that 60mph equals a mile a minute.

The next thing that surprises me is that the greater majority have no idea how many degrees are in a right angle, and even less of how many degrees are in a full circle!!

Again, I find this pretty amazing and normally draw a picture on the board and annotate it accordingly.