Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > RIBs & ribbing
Click Here to Login

Old 19 August 2010, 13:27   #1

Town: bournemouth
Length: 6m +
seen cheap zapcat on ebay should i buy

hi im new to this site and i apologise im on the scrounge for info i have seen a what looks like a cheap zapcat on ebay in poole i have no real experience with these but have had other boats mainly dorys and bostons i know these are absolute animals but am looking for a bit of fun. im going to look at it on sat is there anything i should look out for any assistance would be greatly appreciated ive also got to persuade the wife to let me have a new toy thanks in anticipation
Old 19 August 2010, 14:55   #2
SPR

Town: Central Belt of Scotland
Boat name: Puddleduck III
Make: Bombard
Length: 5m +
Engine: 50 HP
take out extra life insurance policy - should keep wife happy!

S.
Old 21 August 2010, 13:51   #3

Town: Cannes
Boat name: midkat 550
Make: apoge
Length: 5m +
Engine: 2x50 Tohatsu
Zapcat is a fantastic toy, very cheap to ride, and very safe if you take care ... and learn where are the limits !
Old 21 August 2010, 18:47   #4

Town: Thurso
Make: Gemini Zapcat
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 50hp
Send a message via MSN to bobbyjoeufb
Zapcats very capable crafts can be used to crusie along or blast about at full throttle.

What to look out for? I would suggest check the tubes for wear and tear transom for cracks and floorboard damage plus the normal engine checks.

Parts easily availible and Tohatsu Outboard very simple and reliable motor.
Old 27 August 2010, 17:45   #5

Town: Cork
Boat name: Cúr na dDonnta
Make: Excalibur + Zapcat
Length: 6m +
Engine: Merc120TDI,Tohatsu50
Quote:
Originally Posted by numesold View Post